Sharing in Christ’s sufferings … making us like Him

Have you noticed how being like Jesus includes suffering?

Paul made it clear in his letters. In Romans 8:17, he writes of our now being heirs of God’s glory, along with Christ. But…

Yes, there’s the but…

“But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering.”

What does that mean for you? To share in the suffering of Jesus?

I’m wrangling with that question.

How do I share His suffering?

Today, I could not get this post written. I thought I knew where I wanted to go with it, but … it was not right. I rewrote. And dug into more Scripture. And rewrote.

And I realized that I really don’t know what it means to share Christ’s suffering.

But Scripture says that sharing in His suffering brings us into an even deeper relationship with the Lord we follow. It produces His glory in us. It makes His life shine more brightly in us. It makes us more like Him.

I want that!

But what is sharing in the suffering of Christ?

I don’t know.

So I couldn’t write. Instead, I went looking for help in understanding.

And here’s something I found that I want to share with you. (Yes, I believe the Spirit does lead us to good things on the Internet!)

A sermon from David Wilkerson.

With a completely new look (for me) at sharing the suffering of Christ.

Instead of my thoughts today, ponder his.

There’s a lot to think about.

Here’s the link: The Fellowship of His Sufferings

 

*

Psalm Prayer:

I am trusting you, O LORD,
saying, “You are my God!”
My future is in your hands.
Rescue me from those who hunt me down relentlessly.
Let your favor shine on your servant.
In your unfailing love, rescue me.
(Psalm 31:14-16)

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, Lana Turner, and Mary Jane Smith for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

Leave a Reply

