Glimpses of the future…in His hands

Warning: In the coming weeks, I may be using this clause more frequently: I don’t understand. 

We’ve looked at our hope concerning our past and the hope for each day of the present.

What about our hope for the future?

I have no previous experience of the future. No stories to share to illustrate points.

I have not studied prophecy and eschatology extensively.

There are many Scripture passages about the future that I don’t understand. Many things are still a mystery to me.

But I have caught a glimpse.

We do have promises about the future that I am certain of, in language I can understand. And I’d like to spend the last weeks of this year meditating with you on the hope for the future we find in God’s Word.

We are not going to deal with timelines, symbolism, and players on the stage during the last days of this earth.

But we will turn our gaze toward the future and catch glimpses of what God has in mind for His children.

We’re going to keep walking confidently forward because we know He is God and our future lies in His hands (see the Psalm prayer for this week).

We’re going to taste the power of the age to come. 

 

*

Psalm Prayer:

I am trusting you, O LORD,
saying, “You are my God!”
My future is in your hands.
(from Psalm 31:14-15)

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, Lana Turner, and Mary Jane Smith for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

2 thoughts on “Glimpses of the future…in His hands

    • Oh, Denise! I step into this last phase of the devotionals with trepidation and a great sense of inadequacy … but at the same time with a hunger to “see” more myself and a firm belief that He’ll keep His promise and the Spirit will work through us.
      I welcome prayers and help from my friends!

Leave a Reply

