Although we have no money … He is faithful

I was supposed to be a refrigerator.

My newly-wed mother and father were saving for a new refrigerator when Mom received the confirmation from the doctor: She was going to have a baby.

That was the end of their dreams of a new refrigerator. They couldn’t afford both that purchase and the addition of a new person to their household. And, obviously, my arrival could not be postponed. The refrigerator would have to wait.

Most of us have known times when we did not have the money to buy what we needed. And most of us know what it is to have a dream or longing for something that we will never have enough money to buy.

Our hope knows and clings to this: God’s covenant with us does not depend on us.

His forgiveness does not depend on our deserving it.

His blessings do not depend on our earning them.

His faithfulness does not depend on our faithfulness.

He offers us what He has even though we cannot “pay” for it: “Come and drink and quench your thirst, even though you don’t have money to pay for it. Come, eat the best foods that give you strength.” (Isaiah 55:1, 2 my paraphrase)*

In Psalm 40 (a psalm to be prayed often, for many reasons and in many phases of life), David praises God for His faithfulness and asks for further protection and blessing …

because troubles surround me — too many to count!
My sins pile up high — more than the hairs on my head!
I’ve made such a mess of things, I can’t see my way out!
(Psalm 40:12, my paraphrase)

As one suffering from the malady of sinfulness, those lines grabbed my heart. I know exactly what these words mean!

I am so grateful that my Father’s faithfulness does not depend on my faithfulness.

I cannot buy or earn Your quenching water and sustaining food, Lord, but You keep feeding me!

My hope depends on His faithfulness.

 

*Thanks to friend and neighbor Denise Balog for giving me a fresh look at this verse.  

 

Psalm Prayer:

Your faithfulness extends to every generation,
as enduring as the earth you created.
(from Psalm 119:90)

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, Lana Turner, and Mary Jane Smith for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

Leave a Reply

