The great light of Good News

I wanted to quit.

Time and time again, I’ve thought about just quietly melting away into the blogging crowd and disappearing and abandoning this huge project. I’ve got all kinds of reasons. Logical, justifiable reasons. And many that are not so.

But here I sit, on a clear morning in Maine, watching the sun slip up from the silver, shimmering sea into a pale blue sky feathered with a few clouds. A woman who walked across the Cribstone Bridge with her camera comes up the stairs and walks by me on her way back to her room.

“Good morning. It doesn’t get much better than this,” she  says.

No, it doesn’t.

And that is why I have not quit writing.

The dew is everywhere this morning. On my chair. My pants are soaked.

One pesky mosquito keeps buzzing around my ears.

But it doesn’t get much better than this.

This is why, in spite of the pesky mosquito buzzing of I want to quit, I must keep writing. Because what you and I know, brother and sister, is that there is good news: there is a great light for the darkness of this world.

There is hope for all the blackness.

For God, who said, “Let there be light in the darkness,” has made this light shine in our hearts so we could know the glory of God that is seen in the face of Jesus Christ.

We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves.
(2 Corinthians 4:6-7)

My very fragile clay has entertained thoughts of giving up.

But I can’t.

Because in every one of us children of God there is hope alive that the world in darkness needs to hear about.

I can’t quit. You can’t quit.

Because God has said, “Let there be light.”

We know it. So many others long to know it.

And it just doesn’t get any better than this.

 

 

 

 

 

Psalm Prayer:

Light a lamp for me, Lord, my God!
Light up my darkness!
(from Psalm 18:28)

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, Lana Turner, and Mary Jane Smith for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

Leave a Reply

