Our eyes see Him

I puzzle about the book of Job. I’m confused by the friends’ advice. Some of it seems true, but apparently we are to reject it. Even though I’m a reader thousands of years away, I still have to ask the Lord, Why? Why would you allow all this trouble to fall on one man’s head?

But I read the end of the story, and I find, not the answer to Why, but an amazing thing that ignites a desire in my own heart.

Go back to the beginning of the story first. Meet Job. He lived an upright life. He was blameless, had complete integrity, and stayed away from evil. God called him “my servant.” Yet hear what Job says after all his suffering:

“I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes.” (Job 42:5)

These hard times Job walked through had brought him a more personal relationship with God than he had ever known before.

God uses trials and troubles to draw us closer, to teach us more about Him, to open our eyes to all He is.

We can, of course, be mad at Him and turn away and refuse to see Him. But when we look, when we open our eyes, we will see that He is here with us.

Psalm 46 is the song that starts out with earthquakes and mountains crumbling and tidal waves roaring. Yet we will not fear, the song says. Nations are in chaos and kingdoms crumble. The earth melts! But not God’s dwelling place.

God dwells in that city; it cannot be destroyed. From the very break of day, God will protect it…The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us; [He] is our fortress. (Psalm 46:5, 11)

Remember that God now dwells among His people. We are His Temple here on earth. He makes His home with us. The Lord is here, in this city. In the midst of chaos and crumbling and disaster, we’ll see Him with our own eyes if we seek Him.

 

 

 

Psalm Prayer:

My comfort in my suffering is this: Your promise renews my life.
(Psalm 119:50)

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, Lana Turner, and Mary Jane Smith for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

Leave a Reply

