He holds us, even in our discouragement

The storm blew in with high winds and waves of hard rain. Trees toppled, power lines sagged, and debris blew across lawns and gardens. The next morning, rows of corn lay flat, beaten to the ground by the pounding elements. I wondered if the almost-mature stalks would survive and somehow bounce back up and produce their crop. Could they survive after such a beating?

That’s how we feel sometimes … battered and flattened by the storms that blow into our lives.

The prophet Isaiah repeats to God’s people the Lord’s words of reassurance for times of uncertainty, strength for days of weariness, and courage for moments of fear. Reassurance, strength, and courage—all things that drain away when we are discouraged.

For I have chosen you
and will not throw you away.
Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

For I hold you by your right hand —
I, the LORD your God.
And I say to you,
“Don’t be afraid. I am here to help
you.”
(Isaiah 41:9-10, 13)

“Don’t be discouraged. I am your God, and I am here to help you.”

Your Father has chosen you and will be with you through everything!

Isn’t that amazing?

And so, my hope does not lose heart, no matter what obstacles tower ahead, because the LORD of the universe is here, with me. In the storm, He is my refuge. When I know I am too weak, when I fear I am losing the battle, when I see no way to turn, He will keep me going.

When I think I struggle alone, His powerful hand of victory is working for me.

He says, “I am always with you. I am here to help.”

He is holding me, even in my discouragement.

 

Psalm Prayer:

I will be glad and rejoice in your unfailing love,
for you have seen my troubles,
and you care about the anguish of my soul.
(Psalm 31:7)

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, Lana Turner, and Mary Jane Smith for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

Leave a Reply

