God’s Help: If we commit and trust

Wow. Two big words in the title today. Really big words. They ask a lot of us. They ask everything of us.

Here’s the challenge and the promise, from a simple verse you have probably known since you were a child.

Commit everything you do to the LORD.
Trust him, and he will help you.
(Psalm 37:5)

How simple are those instructions? Commit everything today to the Lord. Trust Him.

And He will help you.

Lessons straight from the Bible and the dictionary today, folks.

“Commit” – one meaning is to give in trust or to entrust for safekeeping. Reminds me of a verse I hang onto … My times are in your hands, Lord. (see Psalm 31:15)

A second meaning is to bind or pledge oneself to. When I’m committed to some person or principle or purpose, that commitment shapes my thoughts and behavior. Whatever I do, I’m doing not for myself or other people, but for the Lord (Ephesians 6:7 and Colossians 3:23).

Many translations of this verse say, “Commit thy way to the Lord”. My way, everything I do, my entire walk.

(I’m taking a moment here to think about what I’ve planned this day. Even the little, mundane, insignificant details. Have I committed everything to Him?)

Give it all to the Lord, entrust it to Him. Rely on Him. Pledge this day to Him.

And I can trust Him for … well, everything.

Committing and trusting does require every bit of me.

And He will help me!

He doesn’t promise that I will always have the results I want. But He promises He is there, in every moment, to help me. He delights in every detail of my life, He directs my steps, and though I do stumble, I will never fall, because the Lord holds my hand. (Psalm 37:23-24)

I’m still working at my part—the committing and trusting part. My hope is counting on His help and His holding me.

 

*

Psalm Prayer:

Bend down, hear my prayer. I need help.
(Psalm 86:1)

*

 MORE: Exodus 15:1-18; Deuteronomy 9:3; Deuteronomy 31:6; Psalm 10:17; Psalm 34; Psalm 37:5; Psalm 38:18-22; Psalm 40; Psalm 46:1; Psalm 63:7-8; Psalm 91:14-15; Psalm 115:9-11; Psalm 116:1-9; Psalm 118:7-9, 13-16; Psalm 121; Psalm 145:14-20; Psalm 146:3-6; Isaiah 41:8-10, 13; Isaiah 63:9; Nahum 1:7; John 14:15-17, 26; John 16:33; Romans 8:26a, 28; Philippians 4:13; Hebrews 2:18; Hebrews 4:14-16; Hebrews 13:5-6; Hebrews 13:20-21

 

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, and Lana Turner for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

One thought on “God’s Help: If we commit and trust

Leave a Reply

