He bends down to listen

Last week we soaked up the assurance of Immanuel, God always with us. That word always sends a gentle awe through me. The Creator, Lord of the Universe, dwells with me?

This week, be confident of another amazing truth: He hears our prayers.

Hundreds of books have been written on the subject. No matter how long we live on this earth and how long we have been a child of God — we’ll still be learning about prayer. And that’s because prayer is a relationship with the limitless, eternal Almighty.

Our praying is based on one hope: we know that He hears.

Because he bends down to listen,
I will pray as long as I have breath!
(Psalm 116:2)

Because he bends down to listen. That phrase amazes me as much as Immanuel. Ponder that hope today. The Almighty God bends down to listen when I talk to Him?

Yes.

This week, meditate on that great confidence.

*

Psalm Prayer:

I am praying to you  because I know you will answer, O God.
Bend down and listen as I pray.
(Psalm 17:6) 

*

© Elaine Starner 2015 Photo credits: Thanks to Claire Pridgeon, Paul Stutzman, and Lana Turner for sharing photography I’ve used on this site. (Click on each name to see more.)

Leave a Reply

